Weekend Coffee Share

If we were having coffee, I’d be asking you: seriously, what do people without employment DO all day? I am so bored I’ve taken to DUSTING THE HOUSE.

boring-me

(Image from franklycurious.com)

If we were having coffee you’d notice the house is clean and tidy but not spotless. I hate housework. Keeping the kitchen clean is as about as much as I can manage even on a good day. Never mind washing the floors – vacuuming is something I do only when I’ve reached maximum crunch underfoot. I’m not sure I’ve EVER cleaned the window panes. If we were having coffee I’d ask you if you do the dusting while you’re on the phone to your mother, like I do.

housewife

(Image from Mommyish.com)

So I’m writing in my blog (hello readers), I’m reading fiction novels. I’m reading the news, and opinion pieces, and websites about the next US Presidential campaign because we’re just getting the noisy people here in Australia – Clinton, Ben Carson, Idiots Trump, Cruz and Bush. The most likely Republican nominee Marco Rubio isn’t even getting any traction in Australia, which bothers me because he’s the candidate most likely to put up a fight against Democrat Clinton. I think I’d still prefer a Democrat in the White House thank you, even though Marco Rubio is damned fine looking: Mmm-Mmm! Republican Rubio’s politics are conservative and he likes guns. For those who care, my politics are moderately left-wing and I hate guns. One of the things I’ve noticed about my time with the TV series The West Wing is that I’m much more interested in and knowledgeable about American politics than formerly.

I pay bills, I apply for jobs, I cook, I bake, I watch renovation shows – I know: sad. I play computer games. I visit friends. Perhaps I’ll go back to the gym before I have to quit altogether. I paint when I can stand it. DH and I are doing small house things such as gardening and minor home maintenance. We walk the dog together and go to the movies.

bored

(Image from Photokapi.com)

But folks, there’s a job-sized hole of about 10 hours in my day I just can’t fill. Every day. I’ve been advised to apply for a DECRA (which is an acronym for Discovery Early Career Researcher Award), which will certainly fill my time for the next 2 months, but it doesn’t pay the bills. DH gets so excited when he sees me thinking again – but I can’t maintain it when I’ve not much to think ABOUT. Saddest of all: I’m not a Stay At Home Mum. My children are adults. So this old blogpost I read just now totally resonates with me but you know something? At least this lady from Mommyish had someone to care for during the day!

If we were having coffee I’d be asking you how the unemployed keep going without going mad. You’d be telling me drily to take a second look at my bloody New Years Resolutions.

At least the coffee is excellent.

 

weekendcoffeeshare

This blog is part of a weekly link-up hosted by the lovely Diana over at her blog Part-Time Monster

Check it out and join in!

20 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share

  1. With myself just recovering from an injury, my spouse is now down with his own injury we are going lightly mad too being away from work and probably annoyed with each other. I had instant coffee today it wasn’t very good..

  2. I don’t think I’d have a problem filling a job sized hole… Too much to do, too little time.

    I hate that our (American) politics seem to be taking over the world! At least you didn’t bring up some of the fear-mongering that’s been going around. And no, we don’t hear much about Rubio here either. It’s 90% Trump’s latest antic, 9.9% how Cruz has the conservative wing in his pocket and 0.1% of “what happened to Bush?”

    Thanks for the coffee!

    1. Well, imagine if you will the self-proclaimed leader of the free world being Trump. It affects the world. Even more so now with various free trade agreements becoming ratified and terrorism the new norm. I think the more enlightened segments of the Republican Party will avoid nominating Trump if only because the majority vote (being women) will hotfoot it to the Democratic nomination as quick as you like. At least Rubio seems normal. And unlikely to piss off other nation states!

    2. Oh! And I wish I had an ounce more creative flair because I’m sure my days would fill too. Problem is I love research, but without Uni access to libraries it’s near impossible to find stuff out. And the research I prefer to do is applied, meaning field work. All kinds of ethical and legal implications if I try and do it by myself. Sigh.

  3. I’m at home most of the time, but I have the same distaste for housework. I do what has to be done to keep things clean round here as fast as I can, then I move on. I spend most of my time writing and working for a local nonprofit. Volunteering is always a good thing to do with some of your time. 🙂

    Alas, Trump and Bush and Carson are dominating a lot of the media her in the U.S., too, but they’re some of the very worst candidates, especially Trump, who is likely to begin WWIII if he’s elected.

  4. You crack me up with your boredom dusting! When I’m driven to dust, it’s usually guilt dusting, or disgust dusting. We have a black table, and it always seems to need it. Mr. M vacuums and mops our floors, which is a real treat to me. I love a clean floor, but doing the work to have it—no, I don’t love that at all. As for the presidential candidates, remember, the main goal of the American media is to MAKE MONEY, not to do good old fair-balanced journalism reporting, so the extremes are what you will see on tv and in newspapers and digital media. Sad but true.

    1. Love it – Australia will probably get the hysterical Trump paranoia until the nomination conference and then all of a sudden why, who is this? One Marco Rubio? And who is he, pray? And then the sensible US electorate will vote for Hilary as they ought and the world will breathe a collective sigh of relief.

Leave a Reply

