Heartbroken.

A job in the musical theatre department where I work has come up. It’s a lecturer/ senior lecturer position. For an MD/ D/ choreographer who can do other stuff. And who has a doctorate. I’m not an expert in music directing, directing or choreography. I’m gutted. This job is specifically designed to exclude my skills in singing and coaching. All of the other stuff I could do standing on my head. But I’ve never directed a musical or been a musical director for a musical. This job has been designed NOT for me. A kick in the face to all the work I’ve put in over the last 5 years. I may as well give up now.

*the following day:

I just read an ad for a singing lecturer down south, in Victoria, full time, continuing, in musical theatre. Very unusual gig to come up. Made for me but I’m even more qualified than they are asking for. Maybe there is hope after all. Swings and roundabouts, hey?

Leave a Reply

