The dreaded weight loss plateau

Well, after a few great weeks of solid weight loss, I’ve finally realised what this non-weight-loss is. It’s the dreaded weight-loss plateau. That awful time when, after your body has done all it has asked of you, and you are working hard, going to all your classes and generally being a good exercise bunny, and weight loss does NOT occur. And you can feel it and see it – no change in your belly fat, no more looseness around your waist. Your muscles are getting stronger – you can feel THAT occurring, and your stamina is improving and everything you hoped would happen has happened – except the weight loss.

I’ve been checking out a few forums and websites that talk about this issue. Here’s what the Mayo clinic said, that I need to reassess my calorific intake and exercise plan. Tick. WebMD tells me I should think of 10 ways to move beyond weight loss plateau. Well, I don’t snack and I’ve taken to MEASURING my food again to see if I’m cheating. Not at this point, I’m not. And their point 8 about exercise is something I’m already doing, darn it. Builtlean has a few more pointers about weight loss plateau that seem to be quite helpful and they say at the end of the article: “As you continue on your journey to reach your ideal weight, keep in mind that changing your body is a marathon, not a sprint (See: body change vs. maintenance). The sooner you can appreciate this, the better off you will be in the short and long term.”

Well, I decided last night to take a small respite from my calorie counting frenzy, not so much having a night off as just easing up on it a bit. After the day’s careful eating and weeks of serious taste deprivation, I had a large glass of wine, some salmon canapes and nuts for a snack, 3 pieces of low-carb pizza, and a fruit mince tart for dessert. I calorie counted how many the night came to and I was 300 calories over my 1476 advised calorie intake, and I ate about 500 calories more than usual. And you know? I’m ok with that. I didn’t overeat, I stopped when I was full and it was SO NICE to have a glass of red. And sugar! I remember sugar! Did I mention I’m on one of those ghastly diets where I’m not allowed even the smallest amount of added sugar? I had a mince tart and it was GOOD.

Today, I feel fine. I’ve been so good for so long that my mind needs a break from the effort. I’m back to my usual privations today, and feeling strong about it, too, so breaking the dieting fast with a little fun-day is not going to change my entire approach to food intake. And those low carb garlic prawn pizzas from Domino’s? Delicious, actually.

3 thoughts on “The dreaded weight loss plateau

    1. Man, it’s exhausting, isn’t it! And the darn tooting thing of it is, what happens when I start to lose weight again – do I have to work as hard as I am now to keep the weight off?!!

  1. I believe this is among the such a lot important information for me.
    And i’m satisfied studying your article. But should commentary on some common things, The site taste is perfect, the articles is truly excellent : D. Good activity, cheers

Leave a Reply

