Pushing past the piking out phase

 

I nearly didn’t go to the gym last night. I was running late, I was tired and a bit grumpy and just wanted to stay at home and chat with DH and have a leisurely evening meal, and as I sat in the car in terrible (for Brisbane) traffic, I thought, “maybe I’ll just take tonight off and go swimming tomorrow instead”. I nearly turned the car around to go home. But I didn’t. I pushed past that piking out phase and I went to my boxing class. And boy, was I glad I did! As soon as I got in there my mood lifted and I felt happy and cheerful again.

I enjoyed every moment of that boxing class. Even after some hard work hitting things, I felt really strong and fit, and fast. In my boxing class, we have sparring partners and take turns to use the boxing gloves, so there is plenty of recovery time. Our burly-but-intelligent gym instructor (whom I shall call Andrew) makes us keep our heart rates high, with plenty of push ups, crunches and other exercises in between boxing “rounds”, and I love the sensation moving fast, weaving and ducking, and trying to jab/cross/uppercut my poor partner’s sparring mitts as quickly as possible. I could have gone another 15 minutes. So I know I’m definitely getting fitter because I couldn’t have said that 2 weeks ago.

Boxing is GREAT for fitness and weight loss and I always feel fantastic after a solid workout.

So, despite my crappy non-weight-loss week, I am feeling stronger, faster, fitter and healthier. Oh! And I swam one km on Wednesday, too. Sure, it’s only breaststroke, and I’m not going very fast or pushing my heart rate at all, but my upper body is getting a great workout, and probably one of the reasons my upper body is feeling stronger.

And, of course, I woke up this morning and my stomach felt flatter than yesterday, and once again I felt a bit “thinner”. Lighter. So glad I pushed past the piking out phase.

 

Leave a Reply

