Stop complaining!

I’ve been having a bit of a look over my previous posts. My, but I’m a whinger! So today and hereafter I am determined to keep myself nice. Only positive thoughts! Not so easy when the hell that is the final year of the PhD is resting on your back, whispering despairing things into your ear.

So, had a lovely meeting with my second supervisor, and it’s always nice to have a lovely meeting. My second supervisor is ace. She’s a really good action person. Gives me great advice about what to do and how to do it. So her advice was the most simple little thing. I’m writing it here to give myself clarity about how to approach it. She said, of my mixed methods study (and it IS mixed methods), that we need to prove that my approach (Explanatory Design, Participant Selection Model from Cresswell and Plano-Clark, 2007) is the appropriate one to use. I need to triangulate my Survey with my cases, showing how they intersect. She suggested I create a table showing how my research questions align with my survey results (questions) and my case-studies. Simple.

I love it. I’ve been ignoring this for months because I’ve been working on my narratives, so it will be good to try and get the big picture through in all areas of the study. And I need to do this in order to make sense of what I’m finding. Also, it was a great chance to catch up and talk. She said a really interesting thing about research – that the more experienced you get, the stupider you feel. The more fraudulent you feel because you realise there is so much you don’t know. Wow. And this is coming from someone who has been awarded a government Fellowship in her field of expertise, plus some other research grant money for other stuff. This woman is a powerhouse.

So, back into the swing of seeing my supervisors, and I’ve promised to get her something in a couple of weeks, so it’s time to get cracking and finish my narratives.

Leave a Reply

