Work getting in the way of study

Well, my bottom is getting fatter and fatter as I sit for hours in front of my computer, working on reports and grant submissions and anything other than my study. I’ve sent my Nime3 conference draft to my supervisor, but instead of doing my transcriptions, because that is the most boring thing ever (and weirdly engrossing, as I may have mentioned), I have taken the opportunity to work on an ARC grant submission. It has been great practice for any future grant preparation as I now know the difficulty of the work needed to submit these things.

I wish I had known about grant submissions when I was an undergraduate, and that we were made to do one in preparation for life outside of uni – I might have thought about the way in which I developed my career a bit more. Anyhoo, grant preparation is time consuming and boring, but also engrossing, and interesting and will be very useful to put on my CV once this has finished.

Whew! Time to go home now – it’s a big weekend. Tomorrow my students and I perform in a concert, then I race out to my step daughter’s birthday party. Then, tomorrow night me and my son attend a freebie concert with the Spooky Men’s Chorale. I’m hoping Sunday will be a bit easier!

Leave a Reply

