You want WHAT critical theory?

So, I decide to do a PhD. I have a hypothesis. I have a plan to research hypothesis. I could do a lovely scientificky one that does a lot of data analysis using stats, but no. I decide to go with a Narrative theorist, who then introduces me to cultural theories and critical theory, and now I am fooked. Fooked, I say. Completely confused and a bit annoyed that I have to keep fossicking around for the right theory to “fit” my research. Why oh why didn’t I choose the BLUE pill?

I’ve researched Deci and Ryan, and motivational theories, I’ve looked at Bruner and Clandinin and Lave and Wenger. I’ve begun to traverse the minefield of Nel Noddings, Shulman and other educational theorists and I’m even (tonight) looking at Deleuze! I’ve wandered through Bourdieu but found him impenetrable and frankly a wank, so where does this leave me? With a bunch of overly complex theories that essentially just confuse me and leave me feeling a bit stupid. I feel like my lovely, simple project has been hijacked and I’m annoyed that I can’t find my way. Urgh.

3 thoughts on “You want WHAT critical theory?

  1. Man, talk about a fantastic post! I?ve stumbled across your blog a few times within the past, but I usually forgot to bookmark it. But not again! Thanks for posting the way you do, I genuinely appreciate seeing someone who actually has a viewpoint and isn?t really just bringing back up crap like nearly all other writers today. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

