Nailing the confirmation paper

After much angst, confusion and near despair, I believe I have finally nailed the structure of my confirmation document. Using Shulman’s Signature Pedagogy notion, I have constructed an argument using his tripartite dimensional notion of surface, deep and implicit structure to unpack practices, values and beliefs about vocal education. It feels a little artificial, but I was so happy when I read his article again and realized that I could structure my argument around what is known about vocal education practices, what is known about the assumptions of what is considered the best way to deliver vocal education, and what is known about the values and beliefs about vocal education. It made me see that there are ways to interrogate my knowledge that can be structured and make sense. I think I will use signature pedagogy as my primary theory, and tie it in with Bruner’s cultural psychology notions that culture forms us and we form culture, and that it is important to explore tacit beliefs about the way we learn and teach.

This roller coaster is immensely sickening, but good. The only problem  that I see before me now are the permissions that HAVE NOT YET COME IN regarding the next phase of the study. I’m desperate to get started, but the only permission I have received is from P. Darn it!

Leave a Reply

