How life gets in the way of a good researcher

I have discovered, over the last few days and weeks, that life can really interfere with the joy of work. Upon our return from New Zealand, where I did perhaps five hours of solid research based work, I found that trying to juggle family and work is not really possible. While I am now back on the computer, I have had difficulty in reconciling my work requirements with those of my family.

I have so much to do, and so little time to do it. I am also being swamped with singing students, as is normal at the beginning of the school year. So far I am very happy with the cohort I am getting but not sure how I will fit everything in!

I think actually I am a little bit depressed about my lack of progress this year, and about the demands being placed on me in all areas. I feel I am moving away from my creative parts and into a strictly teaching and study mode. I knew this was going to happen, but I desperately need some creative outlet. I’ve been putting weight on, too, and not exercising, which makes me feel slobby and unattractive. There’s plenty to moan about, but no really serious complaints. It’s not like I’m starving or my children dying or anything. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

